REAL Chicken Nuggets

REAL Chicken Nuggets

The last time my kids ate Tyson’s chicken nuggets, Bethany took a bite and then said, “Look at that big bite Momma!”—and then I looked at this thing that was supposed to be chicken and I was completely grossed out.  I just cannot do it anymore.  I cannot feed my children this garbage.  Again, no judgment here—Lord knows we’ve been eating these nuggets for years, but I cannot do it anymore.  But my kids LOVE chicken nuggets!!  What is a Mom to do!?!  Make homemade ones, that’s what.  This recipe is super easy, and the best part is; I make a double or triple batch and freeze them.  This way I have an emergency stash if I need a quick meal if we are having one of “those” days.  I wish I knew where I found this recipe, but I don’t–somewhere from the online world.

Ingredients

3 skinless boneless chicken breasts
1 cup seasoned bread crumbs
½ cup Parmesan (we use Pecorino-Romano)
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. dried thyme
1 T. dried basil
½ cup butter (melted)

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Dice chicken into bite sized pieces.  In a bowl, mix together bread crumbs, cheese, salt, thyme, and basil.  Mix until blended.  Place melted butter in a separate bowl.  Dip chicken in butter, then coat with bread crumb mixture.  Place on a baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes.  Eat right then or pop them into the freezer on the tray for an hour or so.  Then place them into a Ziploc baggie for long-term storage.

When ready, grab out as many as you’d like and bake in the oven at 400 degrees until heated thoroughly.

One thought on “REAL Chicken Nuggets

  1. Pingback: Weekly Meals March 21-24 | one surrendered mommy

Leave a Reply

